So, New York…

And after a second visit to the country, I’ve definitely come to the logical, reasonable and well-evaluated conclusion that I would like to move to America in the short-term future. And after what was technically my second visit to the city (although I personally choose to discount sprinting through JFK to catch a connecting flight), New York City may be on the list of potential places to try and make a living.

Seriously, I’ve had this kind of talk with a couple my friends for the last few weeks, and although it’s a bit of a far-out, far-off idea, it’s been taken seriously. In all honesty, I need something to hope for, to look forward to (other than this idea, I’ve got ‘Ooo, I might have stir-fry tonight’ and ‘It’s Record Store Day on Saturday- hope Action have the new Bowie single in stock’. That’s it.).

I need out of here.

………sorry, I’ll stop here. Before I go on some sort of dark, rambling rant about my mental/emotional state, I’ll stop right now. I’m here to talk about what I did, and give recommendations to people who wish to try stuff.

The plane ride wasn’t bad. Well, every flight must have something or someone irritating on it, and in this case, a bunch of schoolchildren going on a fieldtrip. Sat directly behind me. I think I’d rather have the Yorkshire couple wanting to count the lightbulbs in Las Vegas again (I hope they had fun).

Although we ended up seeing a fairly large amount of sights that most guidebooks state you must see, there were a couple that were missed- mainly Central Park (wasn’t on the ‘see this/do this’ list) and Chinatown (never really near it). Nicest area? I’d go as far as to say all of it- even the Blade Runner/Zooropa-neon attack of Times Square was intensely amazing. And Greenwich Village, obviously.

Now, because I travelled with my mum- who is nearly as picky with food as I am, but has the advantage that she likes mushrooms- we didn’t eat anywhere special. So if you’re after  a “Where To Eat In New York” blog, I’m sorry if I’ve disappointed*. In fact, I’ll list you where we ate right now:

  • 7-11
  • Grand Central Station food court
  • Cafe Europa- Possibly the best omelette I’ve ever had!
  • A pretzel vendor outside the IZOD Center

Seriously. That was it.

If you ever visit New York (or indeed, anywhere you intend to eat), don’t bring a vegetarian with low spice tolerance who doesn’t like mushrooms, is allergic to some cheeses and ‘gets vomity’ as strong smelling foodstuffs. You probably won’t have fun.

Anyway, there are some things that cannot really be described to on paper…or on a computer. One of these is the ‘Top Of The Rock’, at the Rockefeller Center (the NBC Studios)- utterly amazing, if a little windy. As someone who has worked in the in fields of geography and media, I’ve never quite understood how a completely natural, untouched, unblemished landscape (let’s say, for arguement’s sake, the Western Isles of Scotland) will be regarded as ‘beautiful’, while the ethereal, completely unnatural landscape of neon and sodium lights is regarded as a wasteful eyesore. I really don’t get it. Then again, it was CountryFile I was working for, and geography I studied- they might be a little biased.

My one complaint of the city isn’t even a complaint. As you’ve probably gathered from this blog, I likes me a good motion picture from time to time. One of my favourites is The Warriors. Now, I wasn’t expecting anything like that (1979 is not 2013…at least not in the USA), but arguably the best scene in the entire movie is when the gang run out of Union Square Station, only to run into these gentlemen:

Baseball Furies

…leading to a long chase sequence (underscored by a pretty good, if a little date, soundtrack). Except when we went to Union Square, we discovered something far worse.

A farmer’s market.

I seriously want to keep talking about it, but I’ve got enough to definately make a second post. Therefore in the meantime, please enjoy half a gallery:

(Usual rules apply- click on thumbnail for a bigger version. If you want a copy, or want to use it, please get in touch)

Washington Square Park, NY        Times Square, NY        Union Square, NYTop Of The Rock, looking downtown, NY        Radio City Music Hall, NY        The Waldorf-Astoria, NY Top Of The Rock, looking uptown, NY        Greenwich Village, NY        Statue Of Liberty, NY Rockefeller Center Statue, NY        Flatiron, NY        New York Stock Exchange, NY NBC Studios, NY        Flatiron #2, NY        Grand Central Station, NY Chrysler Building from Avenue Of The Americas, NY        Empire State Building, NY        Avenue Of The Americas, NYEmpire State Building in WrestleMania colours, NYChrysler Building from Lexington and 30th, NY Chrysler Building at dusk, NYBottom Of The Rock, NY 

*Ha! Screw you, Google search!

(Dial Tone)

Leave a Reply

